I Have No Secrets wins 2018 Older Readers Children’s Book Award

The Children’s Book Award is the only national award voted for solely by children from start to finish.

This year, the Children’s Book Award received over 150,000 votes for the top ten books on their list, which resulted in three category winners – one each for Younger Children, Younger Readers, and Older Readers.

I Have No Secrets by Penny Joelson was is the 2018 winner of the Children’s Book Award in the Older Readers Category.

You can read a blog post that Penny Joelson wrote about her book on the Children’s Book Award Blog Tour.

Penny Joelson Childrens Book Award

The Children’s Book Award is owned and coordinated by the charity the Federation of Children’s Book Groups. Inaugurated in 1980, it is the only national award voted for solely by children from start to finish.

About I Have No Secrets

I have no secretsJemma knows who did the murder. She knows because he told her. And she can’t tell anyone.

Fourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature, and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change…

A page-turning thriller seen through the eyes of a unique narrator, this is a truly original, heart-rending and compulsive book for young adult readers. Perfect for fans of WonderThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Looking for JJ.

Penny Joelson began working with disabled people when she was a teenager, which gave her the inspiration and insight for this book. She teaches creative writing and lives in London with her family.

Penny Joelson’s book has been recognised in a number of awards since it was released. I Have No Secrets won the Worcestershire Teen Book Awards and the Leeds Book Awards, and was also shortlisted for the Wandsworth Schools FAB Awards, Lewisham Book Awards, and Redbridge Children’s Book Award. She is currently shortlisted for the Amazing Book Awards 2018 and the Spellbinding Book Award.

Other Articles

Electrifying Books for Spooky Season

A spooky reading list is as essential to Halloween as the age old traditions of rewatching Hocus Pocus for the 80th time and adding pumpkin spiced flavouring to literally everything. So, naturally, we had to sprinkle some Halloween energy onto our recommended reads for October. Discover why these thrilling… Read More

Announcing The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Award winners

The winners of The Farshore Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2021, in association with the Open University and the UK Literacy Association (UKLA), have been announced, revealing how teachers have found innovative ways to inspire reading for pleasure in the classroom. Each year since its launch in 2017, the award… Read More

Introducing the Farshore and Collins Book Club

Looking for a brand new Book Club to bring brilliant authors into your classroom and help you celebrate stories and nurture a love of reading in your pupils? Look no further! As a publisher of teaching and learning resources, Collins want to encourage all children to love reading and… Read More