The Jewelled Moth (The Sinclair’s Mysteries)

By Katherine Woodfine

A fast-paced historical mystery adventure for readers aged 9+, with gorgeous Edwardian period detail. Perfect for fans of Chris Riddell, Enid Blyton and Robin Stevens. 

The follow up to Katherine Woodfine’s bestselling debut novel, The Clockwork Sparrow.

 

THE HONOUR OF YOUR COMPANY IS REQUESTED AT

LORD BEAUCASTLE’S FANCY DRESS BALL.

 

Wonder at the puzzling disappearance of the Jewelled Moth! Marvel as our heroines, Sophie and Lil, don cunning disguises, mingle in high society and munch many cucumber sandwiches to solve this curious case! Applaud their bravery as they follow a trail of terrible secrets that leads straight to London’s most dangerous criminal mastermind, and could put their own lives at risk …

It will be the most thrilling event of the season!

***

Cover and interior illustrations by Júlia Sardà.

Praise for The Clockwork Sparrow:

‘A wonderful book, with a glorious heroine and a true sprit of adventure’ – Katherine Rundell, author of Rooftoppers

‘A real page-turner, it has murders, spies and gangs of thieves. Thrilling!’ – Indiana, aged 10, LoveReadingforKids reviewer

‘Dastardliness on a big scale is uncovered in this well-plotted, evocative novel’ – Nicolette Jones, The Sunday Times

‘It’s a dashing plot, an atmospheric setting and an extensive and imaginative cast. Katherine Woodfine handles it all with aplomb’ – Julia Eccleshare, Guardian

‘An incredible read full of mystery, wonder and adventure…This is now one of my top ten.’ – Celeste, age 13, LoveReading4Kids reviewer

The first book in the Sinclair’s Mystery series, The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow, was shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize in 2016.

Katherine Woodfine is a true champion of children’s literature. Until 2015 she was Arts Project Manager for Booktrust, where she project-managed the Children’s Laureateship and YALC, the UK’s first Young Adult Literature Convention, curated by Malorie Blackman.

She is  part of the founding team at Down the Rabbit Hole, a monthly show for Resonance FM discussing children’s literature.

Katherine blogs at followtheyellow.co.uk. She lives in London.

Related Articles

Making a Sinclair’s Mysteries scrapbook

To celebrate the publication of The Midnight Peacock, the last in her popular The Sinclair's Mysteries series, author Katherine Woodfine has written a special feature on her creative process. Read More

Exploring Edwardian London with the Sinclair’s Mysteries

When I started writing The Clockwork Sparrow, the first book in the Sinclair’s Mysteries series, I knew that the London location was going to be hugely important to the story. I wanted to take inspiration from my own experiences of living in London, as well as the real history… Read More

Related Resource