Three Farshore titles nominated for CILIP Medals

The nominees for two of the country’s oldest children’s book awards for writing and illustration for children have just been announced, and three Farshore titles feature on the list.

The CILIP Carnegie Medal is awarded annually by CILIP for an outstanding book written in English for children and young people, while the CILIP Kate Greenaway Medal is awarded for distinguished illustration in a book for children and young people.

Welcome by BarrouxWelcome by Barroux has been nominated for the CILIP Greenaway Medal 2018.

Welcome tells the story of Polar Bear and his friends, who are swept away from their icy home and hope to find refuge in a new land. When they are turned away from one new place after another, they start to doubt that they will ever find somewhere they will be made welcome.

Welcome is a powerful story and a great way for parents and children to discuss the plight of migrants and refugees, as well as global warming, in a gentle, open way.

Welcome is the follow-up to acclaimed author-illustrator Barroux’s stunning and critically acclaimed Where’s the Elephant? and Where’s the Starfish? It was published by Farshore on 08 September 2016.

The Night BoxThe Night Box, an enchanting bedtime story written by Louise Greig and beautifully illustrated by Ashling Lindsay, has also been nominated for the CILIP Greenaway Medal 2018.

The Night Box is a tender story about a little boy who is the custodian of the night. It’s a perfect, cosy read to help reassure children who have a fear of the dark, and to calm down lively kids before bed. The Night Box was published by Farshore on 29 June 2017.

Ashling Lindsay is an illustrator and animation director from Belfast. She was shortlisted for the AOI Illustration Awards two years running (2013 & 2014) and was also shortlisted for the AOI Serco prize for illustration (2015). Louise Greig is a poet and children’s picture book author, who won the inaugural children’s poetry prize organised by The Caterpillar (2015) and has been joint winner of the Manchester Writing for Children Prize.

I have no secretsAuthor Penny Joelson’s page-turning thriller for young adult readers I Have No Secrets has been nominated for the CILIP Carnegie Medal.

In I Have No Secrets, unique fourteen-year-old narrator Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and inquisitive nature and knows all sorts of things about everyone.

But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything – though that might be about to change.

I Have No Secrets was published on 04 May 2017 under the Electric Monkey imprint of Farshore.

Penny Joelson began working with disabled people when she was a teenager, which gave her the inspiration and insight for this book. She teaches creative writing and lives in London with her family.

About the 2018 CILIP Medals

In total, the CILIP Carnegie Medal has 121 nominated books on the list, and the Kate Greenaway Medal has 116 nominations.

CILIP logos

Each nominated book on the list is read by every member of the voluntary judging panel made up of twelve children’s and youth librarians from CILIP’s Youth Libraries Group. The judging panel decide a longlist, announced 05 February 2018, a shortlist, announced 15 March 2018, with 2018 medal winners announced on 18 June 2018.

The long and shortlists identify a range of outstanding books for children and young people of all ages and interests, with world-class literature and illustration from new and established authors and illustrators.

The annual Carnegie Medal award was established in 1936 in memory of the Scottish-born philanthropist Andrew Carnegie (1835 – 1919). A self-made industrialist who made his fortune in steel in the USA, Carnegie set up more than 2,800 libraries across the English speaking world and, by the time of his death, over half the library authorities in Great Britain had Carnegie libraries.

The Kate Greenaway Medal was established in 1955 for distinguished illustration in a book for children, and was named after the popular nineteenth century artist known for her beautiful children’s illustrations and designs.

Other Articles

Egg-citing books to share together this Easter

With Easter fast approaching we have compiled a list of some of our favourite titles that will make egg-ceptional additions to your child’s Easter basket. Afterall, nothing makes a better (or less sugary) gift than a book! From adventurous egg hunts and Easter Bunny acquaintances to special stories of spring… Read More

WIN a Garmin vívofit® jr. 3

Pre-order MISSION: TOTAL RESILIENCE by author, adventurer and TV presenter, Ant Middleton from any retailer to be in with a chance of winning a Garmin vívofit® jr. 3 in either ‘Blue Stars’, ‘Lilac Floral’ or ‘Digi Camo’! All you need to do is tell us the Order Confirmation… Read More

The Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards 2022

Are you passionate about encouraging your students to read for pleasure? The Reading for Pleasure Teacher Awards are back to recognise those teachers and schools who really make a difference! To celebrate the triumphant teachers who successfully promote children’s reading for pleasure, both within and beyond the classroom, we’re once… Read More