Rupert Stories for All Seasons

By Rupert Bear

Rupert Bear is one of the most cherished and timeless characters in children’s literature.

Rupert Bear has been illustrated by many talented artists over the years and Alfred Bestall‘s work is widely regarded as the finest.

A beautiful volume celebrating a selection of eight of Alfred Bestall’s most wonderful Rupert stories, taking the reader on a journey through the seasons. The book would make a perfect gift for any Rupert enthusiast and includes a foreword, an illustrator’s note, several beautiful examples of Bestall’s artwork that featured on endpapers and covers.

The eight stories featured are:

Rupert and King Frost, 1940

Rupert and the Sketch Book, 1954

Rupert and Snuffy, 1944

Rupert and the Rocket Plane, 1946

Rupert and Bingo, 1946

Rupert and the Woffle-Fly, 1947

Rupert and the Gooseberry Fool, 1950

Rupert and Unlucky Simon, 1956

Rupert’s world is truly timeless and this beautiful collection will delight readers of all generations.

Format: Hardback
Ageband: from 7
Release Date: 26 Sep 2024
Pages: 288
ISBN: 978-0-00-861693-9
Alfred Bestall was born in Burma in 1892. He served in the First World War and on returning became an illustrator for books and magazines. In 1935 he began writing and illustrating ‘Rupert’ stories for the Daily Express, which he did for 30 years, creating in the process perhaps the best-loved incarnation of the famous bear.