Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity

By Andy Stanton

WELL, DIP ME IN HISTORY AND CALL ME A TIME TRAVELLER! It’s the brand new book from the author of the award-winning and bestselling Mr Gum series!

NATBOFF! is a hysterical collection of stories, all set in Mr Gum’s hometown of Lamonic Bibber. Strap on your laughter goggles as you embark on a time-travelling journey through the funniest and maddest moments in history. From the Stone Age to Medieval times, from the Great Fire to the First World War, to one million years in the future, it’s all here – and it’s all completely crazy.

Meet the town’s most famous residents, including: Natboff the caveman! Princess Snowflake! A malcontent squirrel! Strange Mildred the witch! A talking grape called Plover! Cribbins, the mysterious Victorian inventor, who invented mysterious Victorian things! And plenty more besides!

Packed full of stories, poems, an extremely odd history of the British monarchy, and even a ‘Shakespearian’ play (penned by William’s less-famous brother, Terry) – and with plenty of Easter eggs for Mr Gum fans to spot along the way – this book is perfect for fans of Horrible Histories, Roald Dahl and David Walliams. Plus it’s the only one that’s got the word ‘kingandqueeniest’ in it, most likely.

With hilarious illustrations by David Tazzyman.

Have you collected all the well brilliant Mr Gum books?

You’re a Bad Man, Mr Gum!

Mr Gum and the Biscuit Billionaire

Mr Gum and the Goblins

Mr Gum and the Power Crystals

Mr Gum and the Dancing Bear

What’s for Dinner, Mr Gum?

Mr Gum and the Cherry Tree

Mr Gum and the Secret Hideout

Praise for Mr Gum:

‘They are the funniest books … I can’t recommend them enough’ – Stephen Mangan

‘Smooky palooki! This book is well brilliant!’ – Jeremy Strong

‘Worryingly splendid’ – Guardian

Andy Stanton studied English at Oxford but they kicked him out. Before becoming a children’s writer he was a film script reader, a market researcher, an NHS lackey, a part-time sparrow and a plum. Today he is best-known for the hilarious and much-loved Mr Gum books, which have sold over 3.6 million copies in the UK alone and have been translated into 32 languages. The series has won numerous awards, including the inaugural Roald Dahl Funny Prize, the Red House Children’s Book Award and two Blue Peter Book Awards.

Goodreads rating

Related Articles

Andy Stanton reads a funny extract from Natboff!

Author Andy Stanton reads a special extract from his new book NATBOFF! Read More

A History of Lamonic Bibber with Andy Stanton!

Andy Stanton presents you lovely little tunglers with a whirlwind History of Lamonic Bibber, the hometown of Mr Gum, for Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity. Read More

Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity – cover reveal

We are thrilled to reveal the brilliant cover for Natboff! One Million Years of Stupidity, the upcoming book from beloved Mr Gum author Andy Stanton, illustrated by David Tazzyman. Read More